Your GovernmentCommunity ServicesDoing BusinessExplore Cibolo
How Do I?
Click to Home
Go To Search
Driving Safety Course
Dismissing the Charge
If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the judge to take a driving safety course to dismiss the charge. Additional guidelines include:
  • The request must be made on or before the appearance date on the citation.
  • It must be made in person, by counsel, or by certified mail.
  • If you are under age 17, you must appear in open court with a parent or guardian to make the request.
  • If you were operating a motorcycle, you may be required to take a motorcycle operator’s training course.
  • If you are charged with allowing a child to ride unsecured in a safety belt or a child passenger safety seat system, you must take a special driving safety course that has four hours training on child passenger safety seat systems.

Eligibility Requirements
  • You cannot have taken a driving safety course or motorcycle operator’s course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months from the date of the current offense.
  • You cannot currently be taking the course for another traffic violation.
  • You cannot be the holder of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or have held a CDL at the time of the offense
  • You must not have not been charged with one of the following offenses:
    • Failure to give information at accident scene
    • Leaving scene of accident
    • Passing a school bus
    • A serious traffic violation, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators
    • An offense in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present
    • Speeding 25 mph or more over limit
    • Speeding 95 mph or more

Requesting a Dismissal
At the time of the request, you must do the following:
  • Plead guilty or no contest.
  • Pay a $10 administrative fee, plus court costs (contact the court for your exact amount).
  • Present proof of financial responsibility (insurance) listing yourself as a covered driver.
  • Present a valid Texas driver’s license or permit (active military and spouses or dependent children of active military may present a valid driver’s license from any state).

Tasks to Complete Dismissal Request
After requesting a dismissal, the case will be deferred for 90 days. During that time you must do the following:
  • Complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator’s course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
  • Present the completion certificate to the court.
  • Present to the court a certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety that shows that you have not had a driving safety course within the preceding 12 months from the date of the current offense.
  • Swear to an affidavit that you were not taking a driving safety course at the time of the request for the current offense and that you have not taken one that is not shown on your driving record.

Failure to Present
If you do not present the required documents in time, the court will notify you to return to court and explain why you failed. The judge may, but is not required to, allow you to file the proper documents or grant an extension to comply at that time. Your failure to be present at that hearing will result in a conviction, a fine being assessed, and a capias pro fine for your arrest being issued.

Plea Offer
Download Request for Plea Offer



Municipal Court
200 S. Main St.
P.O. Box 826
Cibolo, TX 78108

Direct Line
Ph: 210-658-7324

City Administration
Ph: 210-658-9900 

Administrative Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.

Court Hearings
2nd and 4th Wednesday (Excluding holidays)
Voluntary check in starts at noon
Court hearings convenes at 1:30pm