Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Direct from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles:
Media Contact: Customer Contact:
Media@TxDMV.gov AskDMV@TxDMV.gov (512) 465-1484 1-888-368-4689
Disabled Veteran Plates with the International Symbol of Access will be Available
(AUSTIN, Texas – August 26, 2021) A new state law will change the requirements for Texans with disabled veteran license plates who wish to park in spaces reserved for persons with disabilities.
Senate Bill 792 requires that as of Jan. 1, 2022, anyone parking in a disabled parking space must have a license plate or a disabled parking placard that features the International Symbol of Access (ISA). Currently, disabled veteran license plates do not feature the ISA, and all Texans with these plates are permitted to use disabled parking.
Texans with disabled veteran plates wanting to use disabled parking spaces beginning in 2022 may apply for a disabled parking placard or for a new disabled veteran license plate with the ISA if the veteran meets the eligibility requirements for an ISA after Jan. 1, 2022. Applicants may submit their paperwork at their local county tax assessor-collector’s office. Current placards will remain valid; however, the new requirements must be met at time of renewal.
Eligibility for Disabled Parking Placards or License Plates with the International Symbol of Access
Placard and plate eligibility is based on a medical condition that meets the legal definition of a disability. "Disability" means a condition in which a person has:
• Visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting lenses.
• Visual acuity of more than 20/200 but with a limited field of vision in which the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle of 20 degrees or less.
• Mobility problems that substantially impair a person's ability to move around; these problems can be caused by:
o Lung disease.
o Uses portable oxygen
o Cardiac deficiency.
o Wheelchair confinement.
o Arthritis, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
o Foot disorder.
o Other medical condition causing a person to use a brace, cane, crutch or other assistive device.
A parking placard or plate with the ISA is only valid when being used by the person with the disability or someone who is driving the person with the disability.
It is a violation of state law to use the placard or plates for a disabled parking spot without the person with the disability in the vehicle. People who misuse disabled parking placards are subject to fines of up to $1,250 and/or up to 50 hours of community service.